Blogger Introduction: Sheila Collier

Image - Version 2

Hi, I’m Sheila Collier and this is a first for me -I’ve never been a part of a blog before now. Yes, I’m 50-something years old, but looking forward to learning and being a part of this great team of “bloggers”. This blog is exciting because it shares information about an event, but more importantly, the Wolfson’s Children Hospital – a mission that is near and dear to my heart. I have been involved with the Wolfson’s Women’s Board for about 15 years and have volunteered for the Arts & Antiques Show to raise money for a for facilities, equipment and programs.  I’m an ex-banker, married 25 years to a wonderful man and a mother of two children.

:: What is your favorite antique or piece of artwork and why? ::

During the hot dry Oklahoma summer days, my mother used to “drag” my brothers and I for what seemed countless hours in her station wagon to various estate and garage sales. She loved finding and buying old treasures. I resented these outings even when she promised us an Icee for good behavior. At that time, I did not realize that she was instilling in me an appreciation for those things that captured our past and were made with a pride in creating quality and beauty. I am blessed to have several pieces that I treasure but one of my favorite antiques is a hand carved tortoise shell. It has sentimental value because it made the historical journey of the Land Run of 1893 into Indian Territory (future Oklahoma) on a covered wagon driven by my great-great-great-grandfather and his family.

IMG_6430

:: Where do you find your best design inspiration? ::

I find my best design inspiration from scenes in movies, tours of old homes and magazines.

:: In keeping with this year’s show theme, what is your favorite “southern” thing about Jacksonville? :: 

 Hope this doesn’t sound cliché; my favorite “southern” thing about Jacksonville is the Southern hospitality. I grew up in the “South”-west and there is a difference in cultures when you cross the Mississippi to the East. Here in the South there is just a different atmosphere; I may not be able to adequately describe it but I sure can feel it. For example, I moved to Jacksonville not know a single solitary soul and I fondly remember the warm welcome I received from then total strangers. They were conscientious and offered their help whether I needed directions or a recommendation for a good hair stylist or a doctor. I am still charmed by graciousness, generosity and “hospitality” of the people of this city.

Leave a Reply

